The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris – Book Review.

Where I, a person with no legitimate literary qualifications, pass my judgement on books I read.

Written by Jenny Colgan

The Plot:

30-year-old Anna Trent is going through a bit of a bad time in life, when her old French Teacher gets her a chance to work in a chocolate shop in Paris.

What I thought:

I did not enjoy the book much, and was geared to trash it completely. However, as an after thought, I realised that the fault is not in the novel itself. Rather I am reading it at somewhat a wrong age.

The author describes Paris quiet beautifully, using very evocative language and making it seem as though the city is a wonderland. I have never been there, so I can not vouch for the accuracy of the descriptions. The picture painted by Colgan seems very tempting. Judging by her words you’d think Paris is all about the food, the wine, the flamboyant social life, love, sex.. and chocolates.

The plot in itself was quite predictable. There weren’t great twists and turns, which is just as well since, like chocolates, this book is a comfort read. I would go as far to describe this as a fairy tale in the modern day setting, where damsels in distress are rescued by men who can cook.

I am a little averse to novels where the guy – who usually is the centre of attraction for all women – suddenly notices the innocent female protagonist and falls in love and mends his ways. However, here the love part happens not because of the women’s beauty but their ability – which to some extend saves the novel from becoming absolutely frivolous.

The fact that everything shapes up so perfectly one after the other in this novel, leaves you a little sceptical because – you know – life is never that perfect.

Still, I would say that my opinion of the novel is coloured by my own experiences in life and I simply do not believe in happily ever after stories.

To a younger audience that is new to the concept of ‘love’ and have the whole life laid out ahead of them, this book may be a great read.

The take away from this book is to move ahead in life and listen to your heart even when everything around you seems to be at it’s worst. And that chocolate can pretty much solve everything.

Who should read this:

  • Readers between 15-20 years of age.
  • If you have been reading a lot of heavy stressful books, bite into some chocolate 🙂
  • If you are in a spot in life where hope seems scarce
  • If you are moving to Paris (or any new place) and are scared.

Who should not read this:

  • If you are in a steady relationship and understand that love is not magic, but hard work on most days 😛
  • Grown-ups struggling with real life problems like rent and bills and stuff.
  • If you don’t like chocolate. Or France.

Thanks for reading!

Read my previous review here: Unladylike, by Radhika Vaz

